The re-election of Barack Obama as president on November 6, 2012 makes him third president in a row to be re-elected to a second term, following the two term presidencies of Bill Clinton and George W. Bush.

The only other time our nation has had three two term presidents in a row was with Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and James Monroe.

Mike Purdy’s Presidential History Blog 
© 2012 by Michael E. Purdy