In our nation’s history, ten incumbent Presidents have been defeated at the polls when seeking a second term in the White House.

Here’s the list of the unfortunate Presidents who were rejected by the voters:

Election Year   Defeated President           Defeated by


Grover Cleveland

1800                      John Adams                        Thomas Jefferson

1828                      John Quincy Adams           Andrew Jackson

1840                      Martin Van Buren              William Henry Harrison

1888                      Grover Cleveland               Benjamin Harrison

1892                      Benjamin Harrison            Grover Cleveland

1912                       William Howard Taft         Woodrow Wilson

1932                       Herbert Hoover                 Franklin D. Roosevelt

1976                       Gerald R. Ford                    Jimmy Carter

1980                       Jimmy Carter                      Ronald Reagan

1992                       George H.W. Bush             Bill Clinton

Non-Consecutive Presidency:  Of the ten defeated presidents, only Grover Cleveland ended up serving two terms.  After he was defeated in 1888 for re-election by Benjamin Harrison, he came back four years later to toss Harrison out of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.  He thus became the only president to serve two non-consecutive terms, and is known as both the 22nd and 24th president.